Theft Defense Lawyer Oakland County
Have you recently been charged with a theft crime in Oakland County or the surrounding areas? If so, you are at risk of being sentenced to jail time, probation, community service, or all three. There is also a good chance you will have to pay a fine. It is imperative you work with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you navigate the legal system. At Dallo Law, P.C., we understand the consequences people face after a theft conviction. It is our goal to help our clients obtain a reduced sentence or have the case dismissed if they were falsely accused.
There are a number of different crimes that fall under theft (also called larceny). Sometimes minor theft is done out of desperation and the guilty party is not prone to criminal behavior. Other, more serious theft crimes can cause property damage and even lead to physical harm. If you have been charged with one or more of the following crimes, we can help.
- Armed robbery
- Auto theft
- Receiving stolen property
- Check or credit card fraud
- Breaking and entering
If you have been arrested and charged with one of these theft crimes, contact Dallo Law, P.C. at (248) 283-7000. We can evaluate the details of your case and form the most appropriate defense strategy available.
Understanding Theft Charges in Michigan
Theft crimes can be classified as either misdemeanors or felonies. The distinction depends on the value of the property or goods stolen. Section 750.356 of the Michigan Penal Code outlines the severity of theft crimes based on the value of the stolen items and also establishes maximum fines and jail times.
This may include either larceny or petty theft. In Michigan, you will receive a misdemeanor for stolen goods valued under $200. A second-degree theft involving stolen goods with a value between $200 and $1000 also carries a misdemeanor charge. A petty theft crime is punishable by a fine not to exceed $500 and jail time of up to 93 days. Second-degree theft is punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000 and up to a year in jail.
If you are charged with theft of goods valued between $1,000 and $20,000, then you are facing felony charges. If convicted, you could face up to five years in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000. If you have stolen goods valuing $20,000 or more, then you are looking at up to 10 years in jail and a maximum fine of $15,000.
The penalties for these crimes may also increase if you have prior theft convictions on your record. Many times, a person will face penalties for the theft charge that is one degree higher than the one they are accused of. This is why it is important to work with a skilled criminal defense attorney who can negotiate on your behalf or fight the charges in front of a jury.
Why You Need a Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney
After you have been charged with theft, it is important you have someone on your side to protect your rights. An experienced criminal lawyer understands that due process of the law must be upheld. To ensure it was, an attorney will examine the details of your case and make sure the police followed all arrest and investigative procedures. If they did not, then you may be able to have your case thrown out.
A skilled attorney will also work with you to form the best defense strategy possible. Depending on your case, this may involve negotiating a plea bargain or fighting the charges in court. It is important to hire an attorney who works in the city you were charged in. A local attorney will have an intimate knowledge of how the courts operate. This can be a huge advantage in your case.
Contact an Oakland County Theft Defense Lawyer After a Theft Charge
Regardless of the type of theft crime you are up against, Dallo Law, P.C. can provide tough, knowledgeable representation. We will custom tailor a defense strategy based on the details of your case and fight to get the best outcome possible. If the police violated your rights, then we will work to get the case thrown out.
If you succumbed to desperation and committed petty theft or grand theft, then we will negotiate for a reduced sentence. Contact Dallo Law, P.C. at (248) 283-7000 if you were charged in Oakland County or the surrounding areas.