Oakland County DUI Defense
You may think a drunk driving arrest will never happen to you. However, DUIs occur all the time to people from all walks of life. One minute you are enjoying a few glasses of wine with dinner and the next you are behind bars. When this happens, it is natural to worry about the penalties you may face and the effect a drunk driving charge can have on your future. That is why it is important to hire an experienced, highly-skilled DUI defense attorney to protect your rights.
Attorney Jalal J. Dallo provides tough representation to people facing DUI charges throughout Oakland County. He handles all manner of drunk driving cases and can determine what legal approach will result in the best outcome for your situation. DUI arrests can be extremely difficult and embarrassing. That is why an Oakland DUI defense attorney will fight hard to get your punishment reduced so you can get on with your life.
DUI Laws in the State of Michigan
In Michigan, the crime of driving under the influence is also referred to as “Operating While Intoxicated” (OWI). It is important to understand that a DUI and OWI are the same thing. In addition, this charge does not only pertain to alcohol intoxication. A DUI can result if you are under the influence of drugs as well. There are three primary violations a police officer will look for when they pull over a driver. These include:
- A Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
- Physical impairment due to either alcohol, drugs, or an intoxicating substance.
- An extremely high BAC of 0.17% or higher, which can lead to you being charged with a “super drunk” offense.
Like many other states, Michigan has an Implied Consent Law with regard to DUI arrests. This means that simply by driving a vehicle, you give your consent to having your blood tested after you are taken into custody. Refusing to take the test could result in license suspension for an entire year. Experienced attorneys understand that police often make procedural mistakes during the arrest. They also understand that people reasonably refuse to submit to a chemical test. In these cases, attorney Dallo will do everything he can to have the case dismissed or challenge the Implied Consent Law.
Penalties Related to DUI Charges
A DUI charged should not be taken lightly. This crime carries strict penalties which can negatively impact your life in a number of ways. In addition to fines, you could also face possible jail time, community service, license revocation, and the use of an interlock device. You will also have to deal with the hurdles that come with having a DUI on your record. If you are arrested for multiple DUIs, then the penalties increase each time.
A First-Time DUI Offense
A first-time offense carries with it a fine of up to $300 and a maximum of 93 days in jail. You may also incur court costs. In addition, you may be sentenced to 360 hours of community service and undergo license restriction for 90 days. This means you can only drive to and from work, school, or probation appointments.
A Second DUI Offense
If you have a previous DUI conviction within seven years of another arrest, the penalties increase significantly. A second DUI conviction carries with it a fine of up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail. A minimum jail time of five days is mandatory. You will also have to pay court costs. Finally, your driver’s license will be revoked for one year. After the year is up, you will have to submit a petition to have it reinstated.
A Third DUI Offense
If you are arrested for a third-time DUI offense, then you are facing serious penalties. In fact, this is a felony charge. If convicted, you could potentially face one to five years in prison or five years of probation. This offense carries a maximum fine of $5,000 along with court costs. You may have your license revoked for anywhere from one to five years. Your vehicle could also be immobilized for up to three years.
A Super Drunk Offense
Michigan’s “super drunk” law was passed in 2010 and imposes strict punishments on individuals arrested with a BAC of 0.17% or higher. A conviction can lead to jail time of up to 180 days and a maximum of 360 hours of community service. In addition, you will face a fine of up to $700 along with courts costs.
Contact a Michigan DUI Defense Attorney Today
After an arrest, a Michigan DUI defense attorney will make it a point to aggressively fight for the lightest sentence possible or to have your case dismissed entirely. If this means taking your case to trial, then our criminal defense attorney will not hesitate like many other attorneys do. You can rely on his years of experience and criminal defense expertise to help you get the most desirable outcome in your case. Contact Attorney Dallo in Oakland County at (248) 283-7000 to set up a consultation.